Apr. 26, 2019

Ernst-Ruska-Prize 2019 for Dr. Florent Houdellier and Prof. Claus Ropers

Outstanding Scientific Achievements Related to Electron Microscopy

The German Society for Electron Microscopy (Deutsche Gesellschaft für Elektronenmikroskopie, DGE) awards the internationally renowned Ernst-Ruska-Prize to Dr. Florent Houdellier (CEMES Laboratory, Toulouse, France) and to Prof. Claus Ropers (Georg-August-Universität, Göttingen, Germany) for their outstanding scientific achievements related to electron microscopy. The prize will be awarded at the opening ceremony of the microscopy conference MC2019 in Berlin on September 2nd, 2019.

Florent Houdellier is awarded the prize for his outstanding development of time-resolved electron microscopy. His fundamental work made it possible to record the first electron holograms at femtosecond time scale. Claus Ropers receives the prize for the development of ultrafast transmission electron microscopy (UTEM). His development of ultrafast TEM has advanced our fundamental understanding of quantum optics of electrons.

The Ernst-Ruska-Prize is named after the Nobel prize winner and inventor of the electron microscope, Prof. Dr. Ernst August Friedrich Ruska. The international prize is awarded by the German Society for Electron Microscopy every two years for outstanding achievements in the field of electron microscopy.

The President of the German Society for Electron Microscopy:
Prof. Dr. Thomas Müller-Reichert

Technische Universität Dresden
Faculty of Medicine Carl Gustav Carus
01307 Dresden

More information:



Register now!

The latest information directly via newsletter.

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.