Aug. 27, 2018

European Microscopy Society Celebrates its 20th Anniversary

This year the European Microscopy Society celebrates its 20th anniversary. Back in 1992, when the European Microscopy Society was, at first, an idea of Wolfgang Baumeister, elected president of CESEM.

EMS was finally inaugurated at ICEM14 meeting in Cancun in 1998 and created on Thursday September 3, 1998. The first elected President was Peter Hawkes (France), the elected vice-president, and hence future president, was Jose-Maria Carrascosa (Spain), Eddie Wisse (Belgium) was elected secretary and Heinz Gross (Switzerland) remained treasurer.

More information about the history of CESEM and EMS:


Register now!

The latest information directly via newsletter.

To prevent automated spam submissions leave this field empty.